Phoenix

ImageI first heard Entertainment on the radio last month and it easily got stuck in my head, especially the guitar line which is for some reason so addicting to listen to. I catch myself humming it all the time, and it just makes me hum louder. I had no idea who the track was by, but I knew it was genius and I needed to find out ASAP so I Shazamed it one morning when I was in my car waiting for the bus to come.

I had heard of Phoenix before, but never got around to checking them out. After finding out they were behind this awesome tune I knew I had to make time to listen to more of their stuff, so I checked out their most recent album, Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix. At first none of the tracks particularly stood out to me, but after listening to it for about the fourth or the fifth time I realized that was because all the tracks are equally great! I rarely can ever listen to an entire album from beginning to end without skipping a track here and there, but there are absolutely no fillers in this one. I honestly cannot pick a favorite (which is pretty shocking considering how there is always that one track on every album that my ear especially favors and then I proceed to listen to it on repeat for at least the next three weeks of my life, inadvertently annoying everyone who has to live with me). Each track is an epic anthem of its own. Lisztomania always puts me in a good mood, and really sets the tone for the rest of the album. Love Like A Sunset is about seven minutes long of mostly instrumental, which is something I would probably skip halfway on any other album, but not this one. The whole album makes me feel really good, and it’s been my go-to playlist on my iTunes pretty much for the past month or so. Love it so much and can’t wait for Bankrupt! to be released on April 22!!

Leave a Reply

